2023 marks the first time all 30 Major League Baseball teams will play each other in one season

All 30 teams will play each other in one season for the first time in the interleague era, Major League Baseball announced Wednesday when it released the schedule for the 2023 season.

As a result, division opponents will play each other just 13 times – down from 19.

The new balanced schedule for 2023 saw each team host a three-game series or play a three-game road series against each team from the opposite league. Natural rivals — such as Mets-Yankees, Dodgers-Angels and Cubs-White Sox — will play each other four times, twice at home and twice on the road.

Previously, teams other than natural rivals used to participate in interleague matches only with one division of the opposite league. The changes mean that not every team will visit every city every year, but they are all guaranteed a series against every team from another league.

In addition, teams will play a home and road series – three or four games – against teams outside their division but in the same league. For example, the Mets will visit the Milwaukee Brewers on May 3-5, hosting them for four games on June 26-29.

“The new balanced schedule will feature all 30 clubs playing each other for at least one series in 2023,” MLB chief operations and strategy officer Chris Marinak said in a statement. “This new format creates more consistent opponent matchups as clubs compete for postseason berths, especially in the recently expanded Wild Card round.

“Additionally, this fan-friendly format gives fans the opportunity to see more opposing matchups, with a particular focus on dramatically expanding our most exciting interleague matchups, and provides more national exposure to star players throughout our game.”

The regular season begins on March 30 and ends on October 1.

Other highlights:

• All 30 teams will play on Jackie Robinson Day on Saturday, April 15, including the Cubs visiting the Dodgers.

• The Tampa Bay Rays and Dodgers will play three games May 26-28 in St. Petersburg, their first games against each other since the 2020 World Series.

• The St. Louis Cardinals will meet the Cubs at London Stadium on June 24-25 for a two-game series, which was previously announced. The All-Star Game will be played on July 11 in Seattle.

• All 30 clubs will play on Roberto Clemente Day, Friday, Sept. 15, with the Pittsburgh Pirates hosting the Yankees at PNC Park.

Breakdown of the New Balanced Schedule:

Division Games: There are a total of 52 games against divisional opponents, down from 76. Teams will play six or seven home/road games against divisional opponents.

Intraleague Games: A total of 64 games against non-division league opponents — 32 home and 32 away — is down from 66. Teams will play six games against six league opponents and seven games against four league opponents. This is a reversal of the previous format, which featured six games against four league opponents and seven games against six league opponents.

Interleague Games: There are a total of 46 games against interleague opponents, up from just 20. The teams will play 42 games against other interleague opponents, including seven series at home (21 games) and seven series on the road (21 games).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.